Spread the love

Common Core Standards logoThere has been a lot of information in the news lately about the Common Core Standards so we wanted to provide information about what they actually are and what they hope to achieve.  The mission statement of the Common Core Standards is the following:

“The Common Core State Standards provide a consistent, clear understanding of what students are expected to learn, so teachers and parents know what they need to do to help them. The standards are designed to be robust and relevant to the real world, reflecting the knowledge and skills that our young people need for success in college and careers. With American students fully prepared for the future, our communities will be best positioned to compete successfully in the global economy.”

These standards have been built on the foundation that the states have laid and are the first step in providing a quality education for our students. Teachers, parents, and community leaders have contributed to create the Common Core Standards. These standards clearly communicate what is expected of students at each grade level. Consistent standards will provide appropriate benchmarks for all students, regardless of where they live. To date, 45 states including Delaware, the District of Columbia and four territories have adopted the Common Core Standards.

The standards define the knowledge and skills students should have within their K-12 education careers so that they will graduate high school able to succeed in entry-level, credit-bearing academic college courses and in workforce training programs. The standards.

  • are aligned with college and work expectations;
  • are clear, understandable and consistent;
  • include rigorous content and application of knowledge through high-order skills;
  • build upon strengths and lessons of current state standards;
  • are informed by other top performing countries, so that all students are prepared to succeed in our global economy and society; and
  • are evidence-based.

The CCS (Common Core Standards) include English language arts and math standards for grades K-12. English language arts and math were the subjects chosen because they are the areas upon which students build skill sets which are used in other subjects. They are also the subjects most frequently assessed for accountability purposes.

English standards cover reading, writing, speaking and listening, language, and media and technology.  Elementary math standards consist of a solid foundation in whole numbers, addition, subtraction, multiplication, division, fractions and decimals. Middle School math standards are a preparation for High School mathematics. High School math calls on students to practice applying mathematical ways of thinking to real world issues and challenges. They set a rigorous definition of college and career readiness, by helping students develop a depth of understanding and ability to apply mathematics to novel situations, as college students and employees regularly do.

All of these standards point back to the mission statement, “With American students fully prepared for the future, our communities will be best positioned to compete successfully in the global economy.”

Excellence in education since 1985! Back to Basics Learning Dynamics is the undisputed leader in 1-on-1 tutoring in Delaware and southeastern Pennsylvania. In addition, the company offers a unique Department of Education-approved 1-on-1 K-12 Private School in Wilmington, Delaware and a Delaware Business and Trade School for ages 16 and older. Back to Basics is the winner of numerous awards for academic and business excellence including the Better Business Bureau Torch Award for Marketplace Ethics.

Call Now Button302-594-0754